January 17, 2013


Natalie Krings– (402) 881-7699

Joe Hack – (202) 224-6551

Sens. Johanns & Fischer Announce Neb. Participants for U.S. Senate Youth Program
WASHINGTON – Nebraska Senators Mike Johanns and Deb Fischer today announced Alex Brechbill of Aurora and Justin Korth of Randolph were selected as delegates to this year’s United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) in Washington, D.C., on March 9 – 16.
“I am proud of these students for their academic achievement, dedication to public service and interest in our nation’s civic process,” Sen. Johanns said. “They are future leaders, and I know they will represent Nebraska well during their time in Washington.”
“The Senate Youth Program is a wonderful opportunity for students to learn about public policy in our nation’s capital and engage with leaders from around the nation,” Fischer said. “I congratulate Alex and Justin on their selection and am pleased Nebraska will be so well represented in the program.”
Brechbill and Korth will join 102 students from across the country to learn more about the American political process.  They will visit with Congressional leaders, a Supreme Court justice and the President as well as agency officials, ambassadors and influential members of national media.  They will also receive a $5,000 college scholarship provided by The Hearst Foundation.
Students selected for this program must be high school juniors or seniors who demonstrate outstanding leadership abilities, a strong commitment to volunteer work and rank academically in the top one percent in their state. For more information on this program, contact Ms. Carol Wipf at (402) 471-2446 or, or visit


Pursuant to Senate Policy, petitions, opinion polls and unsolicited mass electronic communications cannot be initiated by this office for the 60-day period immediately before the date of a primary or general election. Subscribers currently receiving electronic communications from this office who wish to unsubscribe may do so here.