WASHINGTON – Nebraska Senators Deb Fischer and Mike Johanns announced Bobby Larsen of Papillion and Joseph Zach of Omaha were selected as delegates to this year’s United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) in Washington, D.C., on March 8 – 15.

“I look forward to welcoming Bobby and Joseph to Washington, and I congratulate them on their selection as Nebraska’s representatives in the U.S. Senate Youth Program,” said Fischer. “These bright, young students have demonstrated leadership by taking an active role in their schools and communities. This experience offers a wonderful opportunity to enhance their understanding of public service and our nation’s government.”

“Congratulations to Bobby and Joseph for their great achievements in the classroom and their opportunity to represent Nebraska in the Senate Youth Program,” Johanns said. “This is a tremendous opportunity to get a hands-on look at our nation’s civic process, and a great experience for our next generation of civic and community leaders.” 

Larsen and Zach will join 102 students from across the country for an up-close view of American government and the people who lead it.  They will visit with Congressional leaders, a Supreme Court justice and the President as well as agency officials, ambassadors and influential members of national media.  They will also receive a $5,000 college scholarship provided by The Hearst Foundation.

Students selected for this program must be high school juniors or seniors who demonstrate outstanding leadership abilities, a strong commitment to volunteer work and rank academically in the top one percent in their state. For more information on this program, contact Mr. Harris Payne at (402) 471-2449 or, or visit