WASHINGTON – U.S. Sens. Mike Johanns (R-Neb.) and Deb Fischer (R-Neb.) today introduced the Boys Town Centennial Commemorative Coin Act. The legislation would authorize the U.S. Treasury to mint commemorative coins to mark Boys Town’s upcoming 100th anniversary celebration.

“Boys Town is an extraordinary organization that deserves to be recognized in an extraordinary way,” Johanns said. “Millions of children have Boys Town to thank for a second chance and a new outlook on life, not only in Nebraska but across the country. The commemorative coin is but one small way to honor the incredible selflessness of all those who had a hand in its success, from Boys Town founder Father Flanagan to current director Father Steven Boes.”

“For nearly 100 years, Boys Town has worked tirelessly to fulfill and expand its mission of providing effective care for troubled youth and healing broken families,” Fischer said. “Nebraska is proud to be the home of this steadfast organization committed to helping those in need. As we celebrate its historic centennial, this commemorative coin will highlight Boys Town’s positive impact on communities and families nationwide.”

The Boys Town Centennial Commemorative Coin Act would authorize the Secretary of the Treasury to mint $5 gold coins, $1 silver coins and half-dollar clad coins in honor of Boys Town’s 100th Anniversary. They will be sold in 2017 and 2018 in limited quantities.  Associated costs will be covered by the sale of the coins. 

One of the largest nonprofits in the country to serve underprivileged and at-risk children, Boys Town was founded in 1917 by Father Edward Flanagan. Headquartered near Omaha in the village of Boys Town, the organization serves more than 2 million children and families across the country each year.