This content requires Flash Download the free Flash Player now!
iOS stream

You can also access the hearing here.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Deb Fischer (R-Neb.) will chair a hearing of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, March 14, 2015, at 10:00 a.m. CST.  The hearing will focus on the impact of the proposed Waters of the United States (WOTUS) rule, which would expand federal regulation of water in Nebraska.

The hearing will examine the views of a diverse group of stakeholders, including representatives from the agriculture community, homebuilders, natural resource districts, and state and local governments. In the spring of 2014, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Army Corps of Engineers released a proposal to change the definition of WOTUS under the Clean Water Act. The rule would broaden the definition beyond “navigable” waters and extend the federal government’s regulatory reach over almost any body of water, from farm ditches to residential ponds.

Senator Fischer has led a number of efforts in the Senate to enhance public input on the rule. She has repeatedly urged EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy to scrap the rule all together and has also cosponsored legislation to withdraw the proposed regulation.

Members of the media are invited to a post-hearing media availability where Senator Fischer, witnesses, and members of the Common Sense Nebraska coalition will be on hand to answer questions. 


Environment and Public Works Committee hearing entitled:
“Impacts of the Proposed Waters of the United States Rule on Stateand Local Governments and Stakeholders.”

Saturday, March 14, 2015
10:00 a.m. CST

Hardin Hall, Room 107
3310 Holdrege Street
University of Nebraska, East Campus
Lincoln, NE 68508


 Justin Lavene
Nebraska Attorney General’s Office

Barbara Cooksley
President-Elect, Nebraska Cattlemen

Don Wisnieski
President, Nebraska State Home Builders Association

Don Blankenau 
On behalf of the Nebraska Association of Resource Districts and
the League of Nebraska Municipalities

Mary Ann Borgeson
Chairwoman, Douglas County Commission, and
Board Member, Nebraska Association of County Officials

John Crabtree
Center for Rural Affairs

 Wesley Sheets
Izaak Walton League of America

Pursuant to Senate Policy, petitions, opinion polls and unsolicited mass electronic communications cannot be initiated by this office for the 60-day period immediately before the date of a primary or general election. Subscribers currently receiving electronic communications from this office who wish to unsubscribe may do so here.